Jost Kobusch

ALPINIST

Jost Kobusch

ABOUT

ABOUT

He is known for solo climbs at high altitudes. With his minimalistic approach he dedicates himself to the 'departure into the unknown' - winter ascents, new routes and unclimbed peaks; that is what Jost stands for. At the age of 25, in 2018, he was listed for the Piolet d'Or, arguably the most important award for an exceptional performance in extreme alpine sports.

  • 1992
  • 2004
  • 2008
  • 2011
  • 2012
  • 2013
  • 2014
  • 2015
  • 2016
  • 2017
  • 2018
  • 2019
  • 2020
Earth is flat
Jost Kobusch is born far away from the mountains in Bielefeld. He grows up in nearby Borgholzhausen.
First attempts at climbing
The climbing group of the comprehensive school in Borgholzhausen creates a fascination that Jost never lets go.
Jost is climbing outdoors for the first time
"Indoor climbing is masturbating, but this was pure sex". This experience influenced Jost deeply, from now on he trains regularly. The dream of high altitude mountaineering is also born during this time.
Mt. Kenia 5199m
Jost takes part in a school exchange to Kenya. In the absence of rope partners, he extends his stay independently and starts an expedition to Mt. Kenya. It's his first mountain. The expedition fails, but he learns that mountaineering can work without a rope partner and support. The foundation stone for solo mountaineering has been laid.
Mont Blanc 4812m
Only being his third mountain ever Jost climbs in late November when he has the otherwise popular mountain to himself. It's the beginning of a risky period with rapid gain in experience - Jost refers to this time later as: "learn or die"
Pik Lenin 7134m
A few major errors cause havoc, the solo ascent ends on Pik Razdelnaya 6158m in the onset of winter.
Ama Dablam 6812m
Solo ascent, youngest solo climber. An agile ascent without safety equipment. It is Jost's first mountain in the Himalayas.
Lhotse 8561m unsupported
An earthquake triggers an avalanche that hits the base camp, Jost is right in the middle. "Surviving this was like a rebirth". Jost decides against the planned medical studies and begins a professional career in mountain sports.
Annapurna 1 8091m unsupported / without O2
Youngest German climber. At this point, the Annapurna has a death rate of over 33% and for the first time the mountains are no longer an exercise device. The youthful "learn or die" approach gives way to a maturation process: the summit becomes a bonus.
Nangpai Gossum II 7298m
Until Jost's solo ascent, the mountain was considered the fourth highest unclimbed mountain on earth. For this achievement, Kobusch was included in the 2017 selection list - Significant ascents des Piolet d’Or, probably the most important award for exceptional achievements in extreme mountain sports.
Carstenz Pyramid 4884m
First ascent of the route "the way of the ancestors" Solo and 5 more ascent of the mountain.
Amotsang 6393m
Solo first ascent in the Lower Mustang in Nepal as acclimatization for the Everest expedition.
Everest 8848m Winter Solo
At the turn of the year 2019/2020, Jost carried out a training expedition for his long-term Everest West Ridge project. At the end of February he finished the attempt at 7,360 meters after he had reached his target altitude of 7000m and the risk of continuing the expedition outweighed the benefits. Jost holds the altitude record among all expeditions this winter.

"I follow my curiosity. Into the unknown. To try something I'm not even sure is possible. That's what I live for."

Partners

These brands enable me to live my passion.

en_USEnglish

Efficiency through laziness

Why hard work can be a tremendous waste of time

Free E-Book

Jost Kobusch

ALPINIST

Jost Kobusch

ABOUT

ABOUT

Sein Markenzeichen sind Solo-Besteigungen in großen Höhen. Mit seinem minimalistischem Approach verschreibt er sich dem “Aufbruch ins Unbekannte” – Winterbegehungen, neue Routen und unbestiegene Gipfel, für all das steht Jost. Im Alter von 25 Jahren wurde er 2018 für den Piolet d’Or gelistet, der wohl bedeutendsten Auszeichnung für außergewöhnliche Leistungen im extremen Bergsport.

  • 1992
  • 2004
  • 2008
  • 2011
  • 2012
  • 2013
  • 2014
  • 2015
  • 2016
  • 2017
  • 2018
  • 2019
  • 2020
Die Erde ist flach
Jost Kobusch wird in Bielefeld geboren. Er wächst im nahegelegenen Borgholzhausen auf.
Erste Kletterversuche
Die Kletter-AG der Gesamtschule in Borgholzhausen erzeugt eine Faszination die Jost nicht mehr loslässt.
Jost ist das erste Mal Outdoor Klettern
"Indoor Klettern ist masturbieren, aber das hier war purer Sex". Dieses Erlebnis beeinflusst Jost tief, von nun an trainiert er regelmäßig. Auch der Traum vom Höhenbergsteigen wird in dieser Zeit geboren.
Mt. Kenia 5199m
Jost nimmt an einem Schüleraustausch nach Kenia teil. In Ermangelung von Seilpartnern verlängert er seinen Aufenthalt eigenständig und startet eine Expedition zum Mt. Kenia. Es ist sein erster Berg. Die Expedition scheitert, aber er lernt, dass Bergsteigen auch ohne Seilpartner und Support funktionieren kann. Der Grundstein für das Solo Bergsteigen ist gelegt.
Mont Blanc 4812m
Es ist erst Jost's dritter Berg als er ende November aufbricht. Zu dieser Jahreszeit hat er den sonst so belebten Berg für sich alleine. Es ist der Beginn einer riskanten Phase mit schnellem Erfahrungsgewinn - Jost bezeichnet diese Zeit später als: "lern oder stirb"
Pik Lenin 7134m
Die solo Besteigung endet auf dem Pik Razdelnaya 6158m im anbrechenden Winter. Hier gabs richtig fett auf die Schnauze.
Ama Dablam 6812m
Solo Besteigung, Jüngster Solo Besteiger. Eine agile Besteigung ohne Sicherungsmittel. Es ist Jost's erster Berg im Himalaya.
Lhotse 8561m unsupported
Ein Erdbeben löst eine Lawine aus die das Basecamp trifft, Jost ist mittendrin. "Das zu überleben war wie eine Wiedergeburt". Jost entscheidet sich gegen das geplante Medizinstudium und beginnt eine Profikarriere im Bergsport.
Annapurna 1 8091m unsupported und ohne Sauerstoff
Jüngster Deutscher Besteiger. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt hat die Annapurna eine Todesrate von über 33% und die Berge sind zum ersten Mal kein Trainingsgerät mehr. Der jugendliche "Lern oder stirb" Ansatz weicht einem Reifeprozess: der Gipfel wird zum Bonus.
Nangpai Gossum 2 7298m
Der Berg galt bis zu Jost's Solobegehung als der vierthöchste unbestiegene Berg der Erde. Für diese Leistung wurde Kobusch in die Auswahlliste 2017 - Significant ascents des Piolet d’Or aufgenommen, der wohl bedeutendsten Auszeichnung für außergewöhnliche Leistungen im extremen Bergsport.
Carstenz Pyramide 4884m
Erstbegehung der Route "the way of the ancestors" Solo und 5 weitere Begehungen des Berges.
Amotsang 6393m
Solo Erstbesteigung im Lower Mustang in Nepal zur Akklimatisierung für die Everest Expedition.
Everest 8848m Winter Solo
Zum Jahreswechsel 2019/2020 führte Jost eine Trainingsexpedition zu seinem langfristigen Everest Westgrat Projekt durch. Ende Februar brach er den Versuch auf 7360 Meter ab, nachdem er seine Zielhöhe von 7000m erreicht hatte und das Risiko einer Fortsetzung der Expedition den Nutzen überwog. Jost hält den Höhenrekord unter allen Expeditionen in diesem Winter.

"Ich folge meiner Neugierde. Ins Unbekannte. Etwas zu versuchen von dem ich nicht sicher bin, ob es überhaupt möglich ist. Dafür lebe ich."

Partner

Diese Brands ermöglichen mir meine Leidenschaft zu leben.

de_DEGerman

EFFIZIENZ DURCH FAULHEIT

Warum harte Arbeit häufig eine riesige Zeitverschwendung ist.

Kostenloses e-Book